Radiology Top 100
Radiology Discussion Boards

Welcome Visitor, Please Register or Login
Author
StudentofRad

PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2012 12:04 am    Post subject: Hips and other land marks - larger patients Reply with quote

Hi everyone. My problem has been hips on well... not so average size patients. lets face it our population is getting larger and its getting harder to locate some of our landmarks. It is harder for me as a male tech I dont want to have the reputation as the touchy feely person who cant find what he's looking for.

Some of the older techs just simiply look at a patient and can get it (experience, that will come in time )

The ASIS isnt that bad to find its always somewhat prominent, at least I think so but I digress

The real issue is the top of the crest for about...90% of the work we do. Whether it is a lumbar spine, an abdomen, KUB, TOMO, etc etc etc we need to find it.

I have heard several ways to find it and some of them I do use. What I do is basically run my hand down the ribs, i know its going to go soft for the floating 11 and 12 ribs and then the next possible thing I will find is either adipose or the crest itself

I have also heard that the belly button is the top of the crest as well, however I dont really care for that because I feel if someone's stomach hangs low enough (especially upright work) then it will throw it off

another was the joints in the thumbs as if they had their hands at their sides.

so many ways to go about it. I would like to hear some more before clinicals start back up in a couple days. Again, I just dont want to be that person who is struggling to find iliac crest when i know what it is but just cant find it under all of that.

bravo

PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2012 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote